skip to content

Institute of Astronomy


A Celebration of 50 years of the Institute of Astronomy, 

Sunday, 21 July 2024 - Friday, 26 July 2024


Join us for "IoA50: New Frontiers of Astronomy," a special celebration marking 50 years of pioneering advancements at the Institute of Astronomy.

This event promises an exciting blend of scientific discussions and public talks, all centred around the future of astronomy.


Confirmed Speakers

  • Alexandra Amon, Princeton University, Princeton, USA

  • Matthew Bate, University of Exeter, Exeter, UK

  • Alis Deason, Durham University, Durham, UK

  • Yohan Dubois, Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris, Paris, France

  • George Efstathiou, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, UK

  • Andy Fabian, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge, UK

  • Andreu Font-Ribera, Institut de Física d'Altes Energies, Barcelona, Spain

  • Jim Fuller, California Institute of Technology, California, USA

  • Natascha M. Forster Schreiber, Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching, Germany

  • Michaël Gillon, University of Liège, Liège, Belgium

  • Keith Hawkins, University of Texas, Austin, USA

  • Sasha Hinkley, University of Exeter, Exeter, UK

  • Lisa Kaltenegger, Cornell University, Ithaca, USA

  • Erin Kara, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Massachusetts, USA 

  • Chiaki Kobayashi, University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield, UK

  • Léon Koopmans, University of Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands

  • Sera Markoff, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

  • Chiara Mingarelli, Yale University, New Haven, USA

  • Carole Mundell, The European Space Agency (ESA), Spain

  • Christoph Pfrommer, The Leibniz Institute for Astrophysics Potsdam (AIP), Potsdam, Germany

  • Raymond Pierrehumbert, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

  • Andrew Pontzen, University College London, UK

  • Chris Reynolds, University of Maryland, Maryland, USA

  • Emmanuel Schaan, Stanford University, California, USA

  • Eva Schinnerer, Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg, Germany

  • Sara Seager, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Massachusetts, USA 

  • Volker Springel, Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching, Germany

  • James Stone,  Princeton University, Princeton, USA

  • Stephen Taylor, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, USA

  • Neil Turok, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK

  • Licia Verde, University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain

  • Risa Wechsler, Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology, California, USA

Scientific Organising Committee

  • Matthew Bothwell 

  • Anthony Challinor 

  • Cathie Clarke

  • Anastasia Fialkov 

  • Nikku Madhusudhan 

  • Hiranya Peiris 

  • Max Pettini

  • Debora Sijacki 

  • Chris Tout (Chair of SOC)

  • Mark Wyatt