Institute of Astronomy

Part II Calendar 2019-20

Date and Time

Subject

Venue/Information

MICHAELMAS TERM 2019

 

 

Out of Term by 18 September

Submission of CATAM Part 1B projects (mainly NST students)

 

OCTOBER

 

 

Tues 8 October

Full MICHAELMAS term begins

 

Tues 8 October

10.00

Introductory meeting with Course Coordinator and Chairman of Teaching Committee followed by tour of IoA

Please see map

 

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Tues 8 October

10.30

Library Tour by Mark Hurn, IoA Librarian (meet in Hoyle Foyer)

Library, Observatory Building

Tues 8 October

Approx 11.00

Coffee

Hoyle building Foyer

Wed 9 October

12.30-13.00

Meeting with Matt Bothwell on outreach opportunities at IoA.

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Wed 9 October

14.00-15.00

Maths Induction meeting including career and CATAM project information, Dr Jonathan Evans

Babbage Lecture Theatre, New Museums site

Thur 10 October

from 09:45

Individual Photographs

(please leave enough time before lecture begins at 10:30)

Hoyle Foyer

Thur 10 October 10.30

Part II Astrophysics Lectures begin (see Lecture List) –

Dynamics , M Haehnelt

Sackler Lecture Theatre

During 2nd wk of MT

Supervision arrangements - list issued

 

Wed 16 Oct

16.00

Undergraduate Journal Club and Social series

Large Ryle meeting room

Mon 21 October

Publication of Essay topics

Via email (hardcopies provided)

Thursday 17 October

14:00-15:00

CATAM vacation projects examples class given by Richard McMahon

Ryle Large Meeting room

Thurs 24 October

09.30

Essay Topics presentations by Essay Advisors

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Friday 25 Oct by midnight

Deadline for submitting CATAM Declaration using Raven log in at http://www.maths.cam.ac.uk/undergrad/catam/Declarations/Current/II/

(on line) see email from Dr J Taylor

NOVEMBER

 

 

 TBC

MATLAB session with Mark Spivack

BOOKING REQUIRED

CMS, GL.04

Mon 4 Nov

Faith provision in University Exams (form here)

Religious observance

Tues 26 Nov

13.00

PIZZA SOCIAL with IoA staff

Hoyle Foyer

DECEMBER

 

 

Thurs 5 Dec

Last day of Michaelmas Term lectures

 

Fri 6 Dec

Full Michaelmas Term ends

 

LENT TERM 2020

 

 

JANUARY

 

 

Tues 14 Jan

Full LENT TERM begins

 

Thurs 16 Jan

Lent Term lectures begin – (See Lecture List)

 

During 2nd week of LT

Supervision arrangements – list issued

 

FEBRUARY

 

 

Wed 19 Feb

14.30-15.30

(For information: IoA teaching staff presentations to potential Part II/III Astrophysics students

Sackler Lecture Theatre

MARCH

 

 

Wed 11 March

Last day of Lent Term lectures

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Thurs 12 March

11.30-12.30

Feedback Meeting with members of Teaching Committee and Senior Examiner

Large Ryle meeting room

Fri 13 March

Deadline for Essay choice to be given to Course Secretary OR students should inform Course Secretary of their intention to submit computational projects (CATAM) by this date

Email Students Office

Fri 13 March

Full Lent Term ends

 

EASTER TERM 2020

 

 

APRIL

 

 

Tues 21 April

Full EASTER TERM begins

 

Wed 29 April

Deadline for submission of CATAM projects and for submission of electronic files. Location for submission of projects will be communicated via email about 1 week before the deadline. Students should inform the Astrophysics Course Secretary which ones they have attempted

CATAM News

EL.09 in Pavillion E of the CMS. Obtain a declaration form from CMS reception

Thurs 30 April

By 12.00

Deadline for submission of Essay

Course Secretary’s office H6

MAY

 

 

JUNE

 

 

Examinations

 

 

1-5 June TBC

Paper 1

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 2

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 3

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 4

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

Mon 8 June

NB Vivas (CATAM) are likely to take place

CMS

NB Optional Wed 10  June 11.15

Meeting at CMS for students intending to continue to Part III Astrophysics in 2018-2019 (NB mainly for students doing Part II Mathematics)

MR2, CMS

Thurs 11 June 09.30

(all students must attend)

Vivas (see Examination Notice) and group photograph

Meet in Hoyle building

Fri 12 June TBC

It is expected that your results will be available for you (and non-one else) via CamSIS

 

Fri 12 June TBC

Examination results announced at Senate House

 

Fri 12 June

Full Easter Term ends

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AttachmentSize
MAP4.78 MB
Page last updated: 15 November 2019 at 11:50