Institute of Astronomy

Part II Calendar 2020-21

Please note some details may be subject to change and additions made at any time.

Date and Time

Subject

Venue/Information

MICHAELMAS TERM 2020

 

 

Out of Term by 23 September

Submission of CATAM Part 1B projects (mainly NST students)

 

OCTOBER

 

 

Tues 6 October

Full MICHAELMAS term begins

 

Tues 6 October

11.30

Introductory meeting with Course Coordinator and Chairman of Teaching Committee followed by tour of IoA

Please see map

 

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Tues 6 October

12:00

Library Tour by Mark Hurn, IoA Librarian

Live online via Zoom Sackler lecture theatre

Wed 7 October

13-13.30

Meeting with Matt Bothwell on outreach opportunities at IoA.

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Thur 8 October

from 09:30

Individual Photographs

(please leave enough time before lecture begins at 10:00)

Hoyle Foyer/Outside

Thur 8 October 10.00

Part II Astrophysics Lectures begin (see Lecture List) –

Introduction to Astrophysics, C Mackay

Sackler Lecture Theatre

During 2nd wk of MT

Supervision arrangements - list issued

 

TBC

Undergraduate Journal Club and Social series

 

Mon 19 October

Publication of Essay topics

Via email (hardcopies provided)

Date TBC

Essay Topics presentations by Essay Advisors

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Tuesday 20 October

13:00-14:00

CATAM vacation projects examples class given by Richard McMahon

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Friday 30 Oct by midnight

Deadline for submitting CATAM Declaration using Raven log in at

https://www.maths.cam.ac.uk/undergrad/catam/declarations/II/

(on line) see email from Dr J Taylor

NOVEMBER

 

 

Mon 2 Nov

Faith provision in University Exams (form here)

Religious observance

Tues 24 Nov

13.00 TBC

PIZZA SOCIAL with IoA staff

Hoyle Foyer

DECEMBER

 

 

Thurs 3 Dec

Last day of Michaelmas Term lectures

 

Fri 4 Dec

Full Michaelmas Term ends

 

LENT TERM 2021

 

 

JANUARY

 

 

Tues 19 Jan

Full LENT TERM begins

 

Thurs 21 Jan

Lent Term lectures begin – (See Lecture List)

 

During 2nd week of LT

Supervision arrangements – list issued

 

FEBRUARY

 

 

Wed 24 Feb

14.30-15.30

(For information: IoA teaching staff presentations to potential Part II/III Astrophysics students

Sackler Lecture Theatre

MARCH

 

 

Wed 17 March

Last day of Lent Term lectures

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Thurs 18 March

11.30-12.30

Feedback Meeting with members of Teaching Committee and Senior Examiner

Sackler Lecture Theatre

Fri 19 March

Deadline for Essay choice to be given to Course Secretary OR students should inform Course Secretary of their intention to submit computational projects (CATAM) by this date

Email Students Office

Fri 19 March

Full Lent Term ends

 

EASTER TERM 2021

 

 

APRIL

 

 

Tues 27 April

Full EASTER TERM begins

 

MAY

 

 

Wed 5 May

By 16.00

Deadline for submission of CATAM projects and for submission of electronic files. Location for submission of projects will be communicated via email about one week before the deadline. Students should inform the Astrophysics Course Secretary which ones they have attempted

CATAM News

Online submission via Moodle

Thurs 6 May

By 12.00

Deadline for submission of Essay

Course Secretary’s office H6

JUNE

 

 

Examinations

 

 

7-11 June TBC

Paper 1

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 2

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 3

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

TBC

Paper 4

Mill Lane Lecture Rooms

Mon 14 June

NB Vivas (CATAM) are likely to take place

CMS

NB Optional Wed 16  June 11.15 TBC

Meeting at CMS for students intending to continue to Part III Astrophysics in 2021-2022 (NB mainly for students doing Part II Mathematics)

MR2, CMS TBC

Thurs 17 June 09.30 TBC

(all students must attend)

Vivas (see Examination Notice) and group photograph

Meet in Hoyle building

Fri 18 June TBC

It is expected that your results will be available for you (and non-one else) via CamSIS

 

Fri 18 June TBC

Examination results announced at Senate House

 

Fri 18 June

Full Easter Term ends

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page last updated: 13 October 2020 at 11:42