Institute of Astronomy

Characterizing Planetary Systems Across the HR Diagram

28 July 2014 - 1 August 2014

Conference Rationale

The University of Cambridge Institute of Astronomy will host a 5 day scientific meeting to further our understanding of the formation and evolution of planetary systems. The meeting will focus on the full lifetime of planetary systems, from pre- to post-main sequence host star stages, and the connections that can be made by viewing these evolutionary stages as parts of a whole. In this way, the program aims to provide an integrative approach rather than focusing on each stellar stage separately.

We will bring together participants from the growing diversity of planetary science disciplines: star-planet formation, solar system studies, exoplanets, debris disks, host star abundances and atmospheric pollution, stellar evolution, and planetary dynamics. The conference can accommodate up to 150 people.

The overall goal of the meeting is to generate discussion and increase scientific interactions among the diverse communities interested in the formation, architecture, and evolution of planetary systems. Two themes that represent the spirit of the meeting are:

  1. The physical and chemical connections between evolved planetary systems, their main-sequence counterparts, and those forming in proto-planetary disks
  2. The scientific potential for extracting planetary system frequency, structure, chemistry, and dynamics at different evolutionary phases and stellar populations.

Session Topics will include:

- Proto-planetary disk and planetary atmosphere chemistry
- Planetesimal and solid planet compositions
- Planet and debris populations
- Host star elemental abundances and pollution
- Planetary system and host star evolution

Invited Speakers

Suzanne Aigrain, Lars Bildsten, John Debes, Gilles Fontaine, Artie Hatzes, Inga Kamp, Brenda Matthews, Allessandro Morbidelli, Nuno Santos, David Sing, Eva Villaver, Kevin Walsh, Ben Zuckerman   


John Debes, Orsola DeMarco, Michael Endl, Jay Farihi (Chair), Boris Gansicke, Andrew Howard, Sarah Maddison, Karin Oberg, Simon Schuler, Steinn Siggurdson, Noam Soker, Kate Su, Alex Wolszczan, Mark Wyatt (Co-Chair), Ed Young, Ben Zuckerman


Eleanor Bacchus, Carolina Bergfors, Jay Farihi (Co-chair), Aimée Hall, Simon Hodgkin, Grant Kennedy, Tim Pearce, Andrew Shannon, Amanda Smith, Chris Tout (Chair), Mark Wyatt

Page last updated: 26 June 2014 at 09:10