Institute of Astronomy

E&D Activities

At the IoA, we are very serious about promoting equality and diversity in our working environment. As part of this we follow the principles of the Athena SWAN charter and the Institute of Physics' Project Juno.

On this page:

Athena SWAN and Juno

The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005. Its initial objective was to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research. The scope of the charter was expanded in 2015 to include the arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

The aim of Project Juno is to recognise and reward physics departments, schools, institutes and organisations that can demonstrate they have taken action to address gender equality in physics and to encourage better practice for all staff.

In 2017 we achieved Juno Practitioner status and we received an Athena SWAN bronze award . Below you can find more information about what we are doing to improve and sustain a workplace in which everyone can thrive.

Feedback on our award from the Athena SWAN panel. (PDF)

Useful links:

Code of Conduct

Our Action Plan and survey results

​Our action plan was initially motivated by our first Athena SWAN bronze application and the responses to a questionnaire we sent to all staff and students in October/November 2016.

Read our full action plan (PDF)

Staff and student survey results

Read summary of the 2016 survey results (PDF).

Read summary of the 2018 staff survey results (PDF)

Read summary of the 2019 staff survey results (PDF)

The results of the 2020 survey will appear here soon.

Meet the IoA's Equality and Diversity Committee

Members of our large Equality and Diversity Committee represent all groups, and include males and females at all career stages: undergraduate, postgraduate student, postdoctoral research associate, public astronomer, academic faculty and administrators. Many of the committee members experience dual career family life including caring responsibility for elderly parents.

Committee members

Rahima Alearsy
William Alston
Manda Banerji
Jake Bennett
Amy Bonsor
Matt Bothwell
Martin Bourne
Andy Buchan
Georgia Busso
Carolin Crawford
Mandy Cockrill
Sue Cowell
Colin De Graf
Catrina Diener
Martin Haehnelt
Anna Hourihane
Mark Hurn
Sophie Koudmani
Nimisha Kumari
Angela Macharia (Institute Administrator and Secretary of the E&D Committee)
Nikku Madhusudhan
James Matthews
Richard McMahon (Director of the Institute of Astronomy)
Ian Parry (Chair of the E&D Committee)
Francisco Paz-Chinchón
Zephyr Penoyre
Anjali Piette
Amy Rankine
Christopher Reynolds
Annabelle Richard-Laferriere
Laura Rodgers
Erik Rosenberg
Hannah Sanderson
Nina Sartorio
Chiara Scardoni
Andrew Sellek
Debora Sijacki
Aoife Simpson
Christopher Tout
Sam Turner
Malgorzata (Goska) Van Leeuwen
Dominic Walton
Luis Welbanks Camarena
Clare Worley
Mark Wyatt
Steven Young

Diversity at the IoA

At the IoA we are proud to support people from all backgrounds and genders. You can read about the experiences of some of our staff and students on Selected Biographies page.

IoA in the public eye

The IoA aim​s to inspire members of the public from all backgrounds through our impressive outreach programme. We host both public observing nights and community group/school visits.

Page last updated: 10 November 2020 at 22:41